ONCAT Conference 2014

The 3rd Annual Student Pathways in Higher Education Conference

Enhancing Engagement, Access and Opportunities | Sheraton Centre Toronto Hotel | April 28 – 29, 2014

View Program

Monday, April 28, 2014

10:45-11am Opening Remarks

Dominic Giroux, Co-Chair, ONCAT and President & Vice-Chancellor, Laurentian University

11am-12:10pm Plenary Session I
  • Rob Fleming, Executive Director, BC Council on Admissions and Transfer (BCCAT)
  • Ann Marie Lyseng, Senior Manager, Learner Pathways and ACAT Secretariat, Alberta Council on Admissions and Transfer (ACAT)
  • Dave Neale, Executive Director, Campus Manitoba
  • Philip Bélanger, Executive Director, NB Council on Articulation and Transfer (NBCAT)
  • Glenn Craney, Executive Director, ONCAT 
12:10-12:30pm Remarks The Honourable Brad Duguid, Minister of Training, Colleges and Universities
12:30-1:20pm Lunch


1:30-3:50pm Breakout Sessions 1-2  
4-5pm Plenary II
  • Dr. Patrick Deane, President and Vice-Chancellor, McMaster University
5-6:15pm Networking Reception  

Breakout Sessions

Block 1 (1:30-2:30pm)

  • Mary Pierce, Chair, Lawrence Kinlin School of Business, Fanshawe College and Chair, Ontario Heads of Business
  • Deborah Kennett, Professor, Trent University
  • Karen Maki, Higher Education Consultant and Researcher
  • Christopher Quinn-Nilas, Graduate Student, Trent University
  • Rebecca Jamieson, President/CEO, Six Nations Polytechnic
  • Ron (Deganadus) McLester, Director & Special Advisor, Aboriginal Initiatives, Mohawk College
  • Jeff Muzzerall, Director, Indigenous, Government & Community Relations, St. Paul's University College at the University of Waterloo
  • Shauna Love, Marketing and Student Pathways Manager, ONCAT
  • Henry Decock, Associate Vice President, Academic Partnerships, Seneca College
  • Alice Pitt, Vice-Provost Academic, York University
  • Karine Lacoste, York-Seneca Partnership Manager, York University and Seneca College
  • John FitzGibbon, Associate Director, Transfer and Articulation, BC Council on Admissions and Transfer (BCCAT)

Block 2 (2:50-3:50pm)

  • James Galloway, Professor, Conestoga College
  • Leesa Wheelahan, Associate Professor, OISE, University of Toronto
  • Jill Johnson, Program Counsellor, University of Guelph

2D – A Decentralized Model of Educational Pathways

  • Wendy Asher, Dean, School of Community Services and Liberal Studies, Lambton College
  • Kathleen Geelen-Cervi, Advisor, Program Development and Educational Pathways, Lambton College
  • Karolina Kulinska, Educational Pathways Advisor, Lambton College
  • Nadine Cervi, Pathways Research Consultant, Lambton College 
  • Sean Madden, Executive Director, Ontario Undergraduate Student Alliance
  • Tyler Epp, Director of Advocacy, College Student Alliance
  • Alice Pitt, Vice-Provost Academic, York University
  • Chris Evans, Vice-Provost Academic, Ryerson University
  • Charmaine Hack, Executive Director of Admissions and Recruitment and University Registrar, Ryerson University
  • Julie Parna, Director, Strategic Academic Initiatives, York University

Tuesday, April 29, 2014

8:30-9:30am AGM
  • Glenn Craney, Executive Director, ONCAT
  • Don Lovisa, President, Durham College and ONCAT Co-Chair
9:30-10:30am Plenary III

Marie-Lison Fougère,  Assistant Deputy Minister – Strategic Policy and Programs Division, Ministry of Training, Colleges and Universities

10:50-12:05pm Breakout Sessions 3-4  
12:05-1pm Lunch  
1-3:15pm Breakout Sessions 5-6  
3:25-3:40pm Closing

Glenn Craney, Executive Director, Ontario Council on Articulation and Transfer

Breakout Sessions

Block 3 (10:50-11:20am)

3A – Lessons Learned in Developing the Brock University/Niagara College GAME Program: A Collaborative Approach

  • Jeff Post, Manager, Academic Quality, Niagara College
  • Greg Unrau, Chair, Media Studies, Niagara College
  • Jean Bridge, Professor, Brock University
  • David Hughes, Professor, Brock University
  • Aaron Gordon, Assistant Professor, Algoma University
  • Henry Hornstein, Assistant Professor, Algoma University
  • Janice O’Farrell, Director, Admissions Services, Carleton University
  • Timothy Brunet, Student Recruitment Officer, University of Windsor and Executive Member, Pan-Canadian Consortium on Admissions & Transfer (PCCAT)
  • Alice den Otter, Assistant Dean, Orillia Campus, Lakehead University Orillia
  • Gillian Siddall, Dean of Social Sciences and Humanities, Lakehead University
  • Joanne Duklas, Project Lead & Researcher, ARUCC/PCCAT Transcript and Transfer Credit Nomenclature Project
  • Karen Maki, Senior Research Associate & Research Consultant, ARUCC/PCCAT Transcript and Transfer Credit Nomenclature Project​​

Block 4 (11:35am-12:05pm)

4A – Media and Communications Converging

  • Brian Brown, Assistant Professor, University of Windsor
  • Valerie Scatamburlo-D’Annibale, Department Head, University of Windsor
  • Veronique Mandal, Coordinator, St. Clair College
  • Johanne Bourdages, Associate Vice-President, Academic, University of Ottawa
  • Sylvie Lamoureux, Associate Professor, University of Ottawa’s Official Languages and Bilingualism Institute
  • Julie Beauchamp, Vice-Dean, Telfer School of Management, University of Ottawa
  • Alain Malette, Associate Registrar, University of Ottawa
  • Jean-Luc Daoust, Manager, Student Academic Success Service
  • Jo-Ann Aubut, Dean, Academic Development, Algonquin College
  • Jeremy McQuigge, Professor, Algonquin College
  • Kevin Baker, Dean, School of Interdisciplinary Studies and Employment Services, Durham College
  • Victoria Baker, Degree and Credit Transfer Coordinator, Seneca College

Block 5 (1-2pm)

  • Shelagh Towson, Community & Social Services Pathways Coordinator, Department of Psychology, University of Windsor
  • Betty Barrett, Undergraduate Programs Coordinator, School of Social Work, University of Windsor
  • Debra Jozefowicz, Disability Studies Program Coordinator, School of Social Work, University of Windsor
  • Joy Kemble, Child and Youth Worker (Accelerated) Program Coordinator, St. Clair College
  • Jennifer Williston, MSW student, CYW, Disability Studies Graduate, School of Social Work, University of Windsor
  • Rob Fleming, Executive Director and Co-Chair, BC Council on Admissions and Transfer
  • Nadine Cervi, Pathways Research Consultant for the Centre for Educational Pathways, Lambton College
  • Lynn Charron, Academic Advisor, Transfer Student Support, University of Windsor
  • Karolina Kulinska, Counsellor and Pathways Advisor, Lambton College
  • Christine Arnold, Ph.D. Candidate, OISE, University of Toronto

Block 6 (2:15-3:15pm)

  • Jonathon Penny, Transfer Credit Coordinator, Wilfrid Laurier University
  • Alan Murray, Executive Director, McMaster-Mohawk Bachelor of Technology Partnership
  • Gerarda Darlington, Associate Dean (Academic), University of Guelph
  • Greg Klotz, Undergraduate Program Counsellor, University of Guelph
  • Deborah Stacey, Assistant Dean Research & Graduate Studies, University of Guelph
  • Donna Reimer, Admissions Counsellor, University of Guelph
  • Ross Finnie, Professor, University of Ottawa/Education Policy Research Initiative